Saint Martin in Germany. Just a beautiful custom!

Estos dias Pasados se celebró el día de San Martín y la verdad, siempre me acuerdo de que hace unos cuantos años cuando estaba en Alemania y paseaba por una calle ya en la oscuridad, pude ver a dos niños que iban con su mamá y portaban unas preciosas candelas que adornaban la bonita calle con una luz muy acogedora.  Aquella visión me provocó mucha alegría.

These past days we have been celebrating Saint Martin´s Day with the children .  For a couple of years, I was walking during a very dark afternoon, when I could see two little boys with their Mom on the street – and I have to admit they caught my breath!. The two little ones were carrying a warm candlelight that without knowing it, brought a warm and breathtaking atmosphere to that dark street.

Al poco tiempo me enteré de que aquellos niños estaban celebrando el día de San Martín y lo hacían mediante una procesión de infantes iluminando el camino para que el Santo encuentre por donde ir.  Algo precioso!

Ahora soy yo la que he tenido este año la oportunidad de venir con mis dos hijas a celebrar tan bonito día.  Hemos elegido una ciudad Alemana preciosa para visitar y para participar en una de las procesiones de San Martín más bonitas.  Incluso pudimos cantar las canciones que todos entonaban al son de la banda municipal.  Vamos una experiencia preciosa!

Someone told me afterwards that those kids were celebrating Saint Martin´s day.  They were illuminating the path in order to help the Saint find his way.  I thought it was such a lovely thing to do, and look at me now!!!!!…. who would guessed…. years later, in 2015, my two little girls, my beloved husband and I have been illuminating the path to Saint Martin too, together with other kids all along a beautiful dark street, in a beautiful german city, and singing lovely songs.

I don´t know if I ever grew up completely, but I think I did not, and I am thankful for that, because the experience was as amazing for me as for my two little girls.

Los dibujos que hice para mis hijas y uno de mis sobrinos, los he hecho inspirada en tan bonita ocasión, y los he utilizado tanto esta semana como la anterior para participar en el #color_collective.

That´s is why the illustration for the Color_Collective of  the present week and also for the last one, is based on this Saint Martin´s german celebration! .

Colour Collective Rose Quartz. Sankt Martin. Copyright Mercedes JTB

Colour collective Robin Egg Blue. MercedesJTB

 

Leave a Reply

